Sony Sports Preps for Asian Games 2023: Ruturaj Gaikwad and Team Set to Kick Off Campaign on October 5


The much-anticipated Asian Games 2023 cricket tournament is set to kick off on September 19 and run through October 8, 2023. The excitement among fans is palpable as both men’s and women’s teams gear up for intense competition on the cricket field.

The cricket event at the 19th Asian Games Hangzhou 2022 will adopt the T20 format. A total of 18 matches will be contested by the men’s teams, while the women’s teams will engage in 14 matches. The seeding of these teams will be determined by the ICC T20I Ranking, adding a layer of competitiveness to the tournament.

A notable highlight of the upcoming games is that Indian cricket will make its debut in the continental showpiece event. Ruturaj Gaikwad, a rising talent in the cricket world and a member of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) squad in the Indian Premier League (IPL), will lead the young Indian brigade in the Asian Games 2023.

Gaikwad’s journey to the captaincy has been shaped by the guidance of experienced players like MS Dhoni, who has honed his skills for the highest level. Having made his T20I debut in July 2021, Gaikwad has since played nine matches for the Indian national team, boasting an average of just over 16.

The men’s cricket competition at the Asian Games 2023 will unfold from September 28 to October 8, following the T20 format. The Asian Games comes on the heels of the senior Indian team’s arrival in Sri Lanka for the upcoming Asia Cup. The opening encounter of the Asia Cup will see India squaring off against their arch-rivals, Pakistan, at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium on September 2 (Saturday).

The Indian Squad for the Asian Games comprises a promising lineup: Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, and Prabhsimran Singh (wk).

The team’s reserves include Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, and Sai Sudharsan. As the cricketing world eagerly awaits the Asian Games cricket tournament, the young Indian squad, led by Gaikwad, aims to leave their mark on the continental stage.